Muhammad Mian Soomro: The 16th Prime Minister of Pakistan

Muhammad Mian Soomro (born on 19 August 1950) is a famous Pakistani politician who served the Chairman of the Senate of Pakistan from the time period 2003 to 2009. Soomro comes from a popular political family of Sindh that has been active in public life since the year 1923. His father, the famous late Ahmad Mian Soomro, was a seasoned parliamentarian who was Deputy Speaker of the West Pakistan Assembly and a member of the Senate and assisted to develop the Senate Committee Systems. He is grandson of Khan Bahadur Haji Moula Bux Soomro, a great political celebrity. He was the  sixteenth Prime Minister of Pakistan from the time of  16 November 2007 to 25 March 2008 and became also the Acting President of Pakistan upon accepting the resignation of Pervez Musharraf on the day 18 August 2008.

Professional life:


A globally recognized professional banker, Soomro arranged numerous top positions both at home and abroad in national and international organizations.

He has also worked in significant posts for major banks:

  • Faysal Islamic Bank of Bahrain
  • general manager and chief executive officer of International Bank of Yemen
  • Bank of America
  • Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited formally called as Agriculture Development Bank of Pakistan
  • MCB Bank
  • Federal Bank of Cooperatives
  • President, National Bank of Pakistan

Soomro acquired huge recognition for his accomplishments during his time with these organizations. He was also instrumental in the development of micro-credit banking in the country Pakistan.

He also arranged a post at the board of directors of Shell Pakistan Ltd.


Soomro’s public service character initiated with his appointment as the Governor of Sindh on the day of 25 May 2000.

Chairman of the Senate

Soomro gave resignation from the office of Sindh Governor on the day of 26 December 2002 to contest the Senate elections. He was appointed as a Senator on the tiem of 23 February 2003 and was consequently elected as Chairman of the Senate on the day of 12 March 2003.

Caretaker Prime Minister

Soomro was chose as caretaker prime minister on the time of 15 November 2007, at the expiration of the term of the initial prime minister, Shaukat Aziz, ahead of a new parliamentary election. On the day of 16 November, Soomro was sworn in as prime minister by President Pervez Musharraf. His term ended on the day of 25 March 2008, when Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani was taken in as prime minister.

President of Pakistan

As needed by the constitution, Soomro automatically became President on the day of 18 August 2008, upon the accepting the resignation of Musharraf. The constitution also needed that a new President be appointed by Parliament within thirty days.

Asif Ali Zardari was appointed President and consequently sworn in on 9th September 2008, succeeding the famous Soomro.

Trustee of ILM Trust and Member of UMT Board of Governors

Soomro is a proposed trustee of ILM Trust and member of UMT Board of Governors. UMT is a private-sector university situated in the city of Lahore, Pakistan.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here